Going Raw – The Plan

I have only three days to go until my month of eating raw starts. I have been busy preparing some raw food ahead of time such as dehydrated Tamari almonds, dehydrated kale chips and today I have a few racks of flax seed crackers in the dehydrator. I made my first ever nut cheese, it doesn’t taste exactly like cheese, but it still quite good. I have also started some bean sprouts. In order to make this as easy as possible, I have been reading my books and making a plan. Here is the plan so far:

Breakfast – A large green smoothie with frequent changes of types of leafy greens between kale, bok choy, romaine, parsley, mint, cabbage, and any others that aren’t too bitter , fruit such as bananas, berries, mango, pear etc and a tablespoon or so of chia, flax or hemp seeds, rotating the types of seeds.

Lunch – A large leafy salad with other raw vegs added, seeds such as pumpkin or sunflower sprinkled on, avocado, peppers, cucumber and possibly other vegs and when I am tired of salads a seed or nut pate or “cheese” with raw vegs and flax seed crackers. Fruit for dessert.

Supper – I would like this to be a more creative meal something like raw zucchinni pasta, raw vegan sushi, dehydrated seed or nut burgers etc. Dessert may be something a little sweet with dates or other fruit, coconut, nuts

Snacks – almond “milk”, sunflower hemp “milk”, Tamari almonds, kale chips, raw cookies

I already know what is going to be hard for me. I won’t miss meat, but I will miss starch, such as oatmeal, brown rice, bread, and the occasional…. ummm…. less healthy treat. My desire for starchy or sweet carbohydrates usually kicks in about 8 pm in the evening. I want to break the habit because it is not a healthy time of the day to eat these types of foods. I want to snack on a piece of fruit or some seeds and feel satisfied. My concern is about raising insulin levels during the night, and promoting belly fat, which is a risk factor for insulin resistance and eventually diabetes. There was a time when I never snacked in the evening, but it is now a hard habit to break! The other thing that will be a challenge is eating enough greens. In the book “Becoming Raw” the authors advise 600 grams of leafy vegetables a day. 600 grams! That is two of the large cello packs of salad a day! I would have trouble eating that in a week! Besides, I only shop once a week, and I don’t have enough room to store it all in the fridge… and while I want to experience all the benefits of a raw diet this cleanse and transition also has to be about what is realistic for me in terms of time and money. Here is how I made the vegan “cheese” today:

Vegan “cheese”

1 cup of cashew pieces soaked in water for four hours
1/2 lemmon
4 Tbsp nutritional yeast flakes
2 Tbsp fresh chopped dill
2 Tbsp fresh chopped parsley
pinch of sea salt

Blend until creamy in food processor. Serve on dehydrated flax crackers or use as a dip for raw vegetables.

About naturopathathome

I am a licensed naturopathic doctor and certified functional medicine practitioner practicing out of beautiful Regina, Saskatchewan. I have a keen interest in nutrition and learning about the latest and greatest advances in the field of naturopathic medicine! To find out more about my practice, you can check out www.wendynd.com.

Posted on April 28, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

