Going Raw – Day 16

A very good day. It seems this diet has either been about eating foods that taste good, but don’t benefit my body, or eating foods I don’t really like but feel really good. Today all three meals seemed to fit both criteria. My energy was consistent, my stomach was happy. I ate a mix of cooked and raw vegan foods today, and left out anything cold on the counter for a time before eating it. This seemed to work far better. Here’s what I ate today:

Breakfast:

apple, orange, soaked pumpkin seeds, cinnamon processed in food processor

Lunch:

Lentil vegetable soup from yesterday
Chia cherry pudding (recipe below)

Supper:

Steamed sweet potato, mashed with coconut oil
Tomato sauce over brown Basmati rice
Mix from breakfast with brocolli sprouts and red pepper
Chia cherry pudding

Chia cherry pudding:

After I made this, I grabbed the Agave thinking it might need more sweet flavour. It totally didn’t. I ate it and then sat happily waiting as my cells absorbed all the wonderful chia nutrients. Well, ok, I know digestion takes longer than that, but really my body seems to love chia.

1/2 cup chia seeds (soak first for a few hours or overnight0
1 cup fresh or frozen thawed cherries
1/4 cup raisins

Process in a food processor and enjoy. Makes plenty for 2 people to enjoy.

About naturopathathome

I am a licensed naturopathic doctor and certified functional medicine practitioner practicing out of beautiful Regina, Saskatchewan. I have a keen interest in nutrition and learning about the latest and greatest advances in the field of naturopathic medicine! To find out more about my practice, you can check out www.wendynd.com.

Posted on May 17, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

