Going Raw – Day 21

My 50th birthday today! Celebrated with a delicious dinner my daughter made of pizza and chocolate cake – all vegan and very healthy! I was reflecting on the last few decades of my life today, and thinking about how I would like to spend the next. I am encouraged by the gains in energy I have made over the last few weeks, and would like to continue seeing those gains. I think the key areas for me are to stay off of sweet foods and large amounts of grain and to avoid those foods I have identified as sensitivities. Next month I am going to focus on maintaining a great diet and add in more consistent exercise, maybe I should blog about that too, since it keeps me on tract! I weighed and measured myself today, I have now lost a total of 6 lbs since May 1st, my BMI is 19, and my waist hip ratio has gone up to 0.80. Not sure why the waist hip ratio goes up a bit each week when I am losing weight, but a nutritionist friend suggested that it might have been a food intolerance reaction, (the corn chips I ate yesterday). My breathing is amazing now, I think I am sleeping much more soundly because my nose is so much clearer. This means I am more rested during the day. Here’s what I ate today – the pizza crust was Udi’s, the “cheese” was Daiya and the chocolate cake recipe (which contained a large beet), was from the “Whole Life Nutrition” cookbook.

Breakfast:

Smoothie of spinach, apple, hemp and raw cacao

Lunch:

Purchased vegetable nori rolls
Orange

Supper:

Pizza – GF crust, pea protien cheese, tomatos, parsley, peppers, garlic powder, tomato, tomato sauce
Chocolate cake – brown rice flour, tapioca flour, beet, agave, cocoa, vanilla, etc. (sorry can’t give you the recipe – it was really good though!)

Snack:

Smoothie leftover from breakfast

50th birthday 002

About naturopathathome

I am a licensed naturopathic doctor and certified functional medicine practitioner practicing out of beautiful Regina, Saskatchewan. I have a keen interest in nutrition and learning about the latest and greatest advances in the field of naturopathic medicine! To find out more about my practice, you can check out www.wendynd.com.

Posted on May 22, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

